2013-03-16

A Story

FAMEPUNK is the story of a fictional Brooklyn-born girl tennis prodigy with a sad secretive past and a great kick serve. Her triumphs and misadventures fuel a sexy, funny multi-volume book about love and competition, children and parents, the natural world and the art world, the Cold War and its aftermath, money, globalism, technology, women's bodies in the marketplace, women's bodies in the home, addiction, secrecy, hypocrisy, truth-telling--and tennis. This is a fan's novel, grounded in my love for the sport of tennis and its real-life players.
 
The story so far...
 
Part 1 of FAMEPUNK follows the heroine out of obscurity along an upset-strewn path to the 1987 US Open women's singles final in Queens, New York. As a curious sports journalist digs unwisely into the strange network of Soviet √©migr√© artistes and Brighton Beach gamblers who coached her to greatness, the new player's rivals react, reflect--and fall.
 
Part 2 takes the action out-of-town, introducing its champion to 1988 America's top clay courts, beaches and deserts where one rival steps out from the rest--with scandalous results. This is a big, long book full of madcap and misadventures in the tradition of Victorian novels; I've called it Middlemarch.
 
The short, stark Part 3 jumps ahead to the last months of 1991. As the Soviet Union crumbles, the heroine prepares an Epiphany gift for the world with the help of her newest fan, The Lutheran.
 
 
These three volumes are available in fine vibrant paperback editions from Amazon as well as for e-readers everywhere--especially Smashwords where they are occasionally on half-price sale.
 
 
This page tells more about how FAMEPUNK started.
 
 
To read about it as it happens on a blog click here.
 

 

September, 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment